The Life And Tasks Of A Corporate Rat Racer


There are a lot of things in the corporate world that differs from the church setting, specially in the leadership style and in doing things. In the corporate rat race, being a leader is having strong will, sometimes, demanding attitude to make others work their way to fulfilling the goal. Whereas, in church leadership, it’s very much different.

I for one is struggling juggling both. In my corporate work, I am to delegate stuff, make sure we hit the goal or target and has the right to demand people to push their limits to the test. In reality, this is where I struggle the most. I am the kind of person who can work by myself and help people a lot by doing it.

delegate-subpage

Delegation, in the simplest of terms, is giving the task to someone to accomplish, and this is where I have the weakest point. I sometimes don’t want to delegate because I fear of the outcome.

Another fear that I have is confrontation, I hate to deal with people who has a stronger personality than I have. I mean, I can talk to them head-on but the gruesome idea of discussing the terms and conditions, the reality and the ideals they have in life of a leader seems to be off the bat for me.

sp

But the good thing in our workplace is that after much discussion, re-alignment and more patience, we tend to end up on the same page and make sure that we are more than willing to change, accept our differences and start building each other up. It might be a challenge for me to step up from someone doing stuff to delegating stuff to others but right now, I’m getting the hang of it.

In the christian perspective, we work to provide for ourselves and our family and wherever the Lord has placed us, we need to bear in mind that we all do these things because we want Christ to be known in the marketplace, the domain where the Lord has placed us.

So, with these thoughts I end this blog post, with much relief that I’m doing what is intentionally the right thing to do and not because of a standard the world has to give.

Thank you for reading. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

