I Have A Brother Who Keeps


I’ve punched my brother five times in less than a minute. It was out of frustration and hate of the words he said through text. I felt relieved knowing that he didn’t actually hit back.

13707766_10154525410709873_3626873853293213339_n
Guess who’s who on the picture?

The funny thing about our incident last Sunday was that the young people at church was shock why I punched my brother, Kuya Viz and that he didn’t fight back. They kept bugging me why their Kuya Viz didn’t do anything after my actions and I told them that it is how we cope up with our misunderstandings.

My brother is over-protective and he shows “tough love” because he knew for a fact I’m stubborn most of the time. But in the end, we figure things out and after punching him hard, hugged him and everything was fine. Yep, we don’t say “sorry” to each other but deep down inside, we both know how to work things out and keep each other’s back.

Our senior pastor shared about “brother’s keeper” a couple of weeks ago and I totally agree with how she reiterated the story of Cain and Abel. It was to instill in us the idea that regardless of what is happening, at the end of the day, we value and protect each other. That’s how it is with me and my siblings. I thank the Lord for the renewing of my mindset that Viz, tough as he is, has his pure intentions to keep me safe as always.

On that same day, I shared my frustrations and the testimony of how a brotherly love kept me aligned with the things in my life. Viz, on the other hand, shared about why he did it. I know, both of us, at the end of the day, realized that he kept me safe from harm and I kept him in-tuned to the things he is saying.

Why am I sharing it here? Because like me, I know someone out there is reading this who has a sister or a brother that tends to do their own way, even when we correct them. I know it will hurt them but rebuking them in love keeps them safe from harm. Remember Proverbs 27:5 is our basis in doing this – Better is open rebuke than hidden love. 

If you need help on how to bridge back that relationship with your siblings, send me a comment or a private message! I’d love to help out as much as I can! 

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

