A Marketplace Lessons In The Parable of The Sower


I had an interview a couple of days ago for a supervisory academy role and the candidate was so on fire of his faith. It is amazing that we see people recommended for further training in leadership in the marketplace because of their stand, their work ethics and of course, their faith.

I have been a believer for most of my life and have worked in three industries for almost 11 years now. Since 2007, I ventured in the BPO marketplace which was the hyped industry at that time. I got in unexpectedly for a role I was not accustomed to, had my experience being trained and encountered a lot of errors in the making. But one thing for sure is amazing, I’m still here after 9 years and counting.

Now, going back to having that zeal in the workplace.

Jesus, the best author we can look into, talks about a parable of a farmer who went to work and did as he was always do day in and they out, Matthew 13 shares this story like this:

Then he (Jesus) told them many things in parables, saying: “A farmer went out to sow his seed. As he was scattering the seed, some fell along the path, and the birds came and ate it up.  Some fell on rocky places, where it did not have much soil. It sprang up quickly, because the soil was shallow. But when the sun came up, the plants were scorched, and they withered because they had no root.  Other seed fell among thorns, which grew up and choked the plants.  Still other seed fell on good soil, where it produced a crop—a hundred, sixty or thirty times what was sown.  Whoever has ears, let them hear.”

The marketplace, like a farm, is where I work. I often see this parable as something to consider when I’m at work. But more importantly, I tend to reflect on myself to as what kind of path I fell.

Considering the parable, Jesus gave us a good point in sharing the meaning of the parable is on the next few verses:

“Listen then to what the parable of the sower means: When anyone hears the message about the kingdom and does not understand it, the evil one comes and snatches away what was sown in their heart. This is the seed sown along the path.

I oftentimes doubt if I’m doing the right thing at work. I feel that I make some effort to make sure that I do my best to deliver results. In the long run, I often see myself moving away from what the bible speak about – specially about standing to what is right, to have the mind of Christ in all things and the fruit of the spirit in crucial times.

The seed falling on rocky ground refers to someone who hears the word and at once receives it with joy. But since they have no root, they last only a short time. When trouble or persecution comes because of the word, they quickly fall away. 

I honestly don’t brag about my faith. I seldom share it to my co-workers. I don’t talk about my faith as much as I want to. Of course, my actions will always reflect my christian standards but how long do I often make the mistake of not standing my ground to make sure I close an item? Ugh!

The seed falling among the thorns refers to someone who hears the word, but the worries of this life and the deceitfulness of wealth choke the word, making it unfruitful.

My walk in the Lord is not smooth. I am financially independent but I worry too much about my expenses. I often work just to pay off some debts and does not prioritize some stuff like before. I failed a couple of times with my tithes and oftentimes, give in to my drive to have a new gadget. (ugh,ugh!)

But the seed falling on good soil refers to someone who hears the word and understands it. This is the one who produces a crop, yielding a hundred, sixty or thirty times what was sown.”

But in all of these situations, I find myself referring to the word of God for comfort, for direction, for alignment and as much as I can for life lessons. This is where my faith fruits comes in. I see it in the way I talk, the way I do stuff and even with the ministry opportunities I have.

But let’s face this reality – being in the BPO industry has a lot of challenges and I honestly think that I’m currently intertwined with all of this at the same time at the moment.

I think I started the last few paragraphs with “Buts” justifying my actions and need to end with the reality that my faith comes from hearing (and correcting myself) for the benefit to grow in my father’s love, to my mentor’s teaching and to the one who’s lessons never fades in time. The word, as referred to the parable, is not just the gospel but the entire scripture that 2 Timothy 3:16 speaks about:

All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness,  so that the servant of God[a] may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.

Because of what God has done, I am confident in saying that I was taught the right way, rebuked and corrected and trained to walk this path with confidence to do every good work.

Leave a Reply

