Books are investments!


As of this writing, National Bookstore is having their “Cut-Price Sale” with books of 10% to 75% discounts on a variety of topics from July 30 to August 22, 2010!

If you’re a book-lover like me, you definitely wouldn’t miss this opportunity to buy good books at a reasonable price in one of the best and biggest bookstore in the Philippines.

Why I buy books?

A friend of mine asked me a few weeks ago on why I keep on buying books of different topics. Perhaps some of you are asking that same question and of what value or benefits can we get from reading books (aside from not being bored during a long trip?).

I intend to answer these questions through this blog post on why books are good investments for old and young alike.

My main answer for that question is that books are good investments. I’ve bought (and received) a dozen of books ranging from novels, self-help guies and leadership/mentoring books since I learn how to read. It taught me the value of life, the importance of having quiet times with the Lord and developing my personality and skills as a person.

Books also developed in me the confidence to apply for jobs I would assume myself as being under-qualified and such but with a little help on reading taught me the ways and means of becoming competitive and competent in my job.

Down memory lane

If you allow me to walk through memory lane, I remembered getting excited to receive the first two books as a present for our birthday. These two books were “The Wizard of Oz” and “10,000 Leagues Under the Sea”. I also remembered reading General Psychology at an early age of 14 that taught me how to deal with different kind of people. The thickest book I read was the story of Billy Graham and how the Lord blessed his life and ministry. Books from John Eldredge like “Wild At Heart”, “Waking the Dead” and “Journey of Desire” were instrumental in building my christian character. Mark Buchanan’s book “The Holy Wild” and Bill Bright’s “The Character Of God” drew me closer to a God who is “safe” and “dangerous”.

I could give a dozen of other book titles that shaped my thinking patterns through the years but I have to admit that there were some books that I didn’t finish reading because it was not interesting enough to read but they are still on my bookshelf at home for keeps (yes,I don’t sell or give my books away!).

Getting books offers variety

These  books offered me a variety of opportunities as well. I was always invited to speak during youth camps, retreats and leadership meetings and I used them for reference and cross-checking for a good talk or workshop. 

Reading English books at an early age was also a good practice in developing my communication skills which is vital to my current job right now. More importantly, it’s an open resource for the things I share through this 5 year old blog.

So, how do you spot a good book?

Here are a few tips I usually take note of when I’m on a book hunting spree:

  • Read the synopsis/reviews of the book from other authors which is commonly found in the back cover or introductory part of the book (found in the first few pages before chapter 1).
  • Read the first chapter of the book and see if it gets you to flip on the next page. The first chapter usually gives you the idea why the book was made.
  • Ask this question “what benefit(s) can I get from buying this book?”
  • Who are the publishers and authors of the books? Are they well-known? Are they experts on these fields or topics?
  • Never believe “New York’s Best Selling Author” – Contrary to other people’s belief, I don’t usually trust those announcements because it’s a marketing strategy only to get you disappointed after flipping through their pages. Best advise is to always look for content and the author’s background instead of this one.
  • Ask your friends (or colleagues) if they heard about the author/books before and what they can say about it.
  • Lastly, how much is the book? and is it worth the cash you shell-out for such topics/novels?
  • (And if you’re not into books) Always start with books less than 100 pages or what we usually call “booklets”.

 

I might have missed a few other things that we need to check on buying good books but based on my own personal experience, the things presented above covered most of it.

Just to reiterate, it’s always important to weigh things down before deciding to buy a good book. Not only that,it also pays to share it to others as well so that you are able to develop and help other people to reach their full potential.

So, what are you reading right now?

[Now Reading: Ed Lapiz’s “Remember Who You Are!”]

Leave a Reply

