Devotional: Make Effort for Peace


“Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. 3Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace…” – Apostle Paul, Ephesians 4: 2-3

We often deal with issues and challenges that makes us lose control and get irritated. I for one gets erratic when pressured and I couldn’t help but be silly at times.

But the Apostle Paul urges us to be humble and gentle. This means that we are to make every effort to remain humble and gentle no matter what situations we are into. Coping with pressure is hard and to remain our composure and be gentle to other people takes a lot of effort.

Another thing that I am reminded of is being patient, I am asked not just to remain humble and gentle but to learn how to wait, even when I know I can do it on my own. I guess all of us becomes like that when we are in critical situations, my only problem is that we often choose short-lived solutions that we forget to see how we can resolve the issue.

One great example is what I did yesterday. I wanted to close the issue immediately and became impatient that I agreed to do some stuff without waiting for the advice from my supervisor. Although I was able to resolve the issue, I was on the verge of doing something that might possibly have a bigger impact (bad) for the company.

Learning to be patient and gentle for peace sake is hard but the Apostle Paul compels us to do so. And I definitely agree that we have to maintain our composure even when pressures and criticisms are along the way. Although our surrounding might want to kill our suggestions, let us minister to them through the fruits of the spirit. Let us become a witness of Christ’s character that every believer should have.

In ending, let me share to you one example on how I did yesterday just to maintain peace in the situation especially when critical issues are a big concern.

peace

Dealing with a lot of things and with people of different personalities is hard. I’m the kind of person that can easily deal with people but not with criticisms. I find criticisms as a challenge yet I often think about it most of the time. It allows me to see some options, weigh things down and do something about it. I’m a passive person when it comes to fighting but I remain steadfast to my principles especially with work.

Doing that sometimes complicates the situation. There are times that my team mates would ask me to push for something that is not aligned with the process. As much as I want to please them, I often tell them about the process and it creates conflict.

In order to pacify the situation, I usually give them other options and do everything to see that these options are practical, more convenient and economical. I also informed them that pushing through with the suggestions that they gave may add more problems later on especially that the issue has not been closed.

Although not everyone agreed on my suggestion, I was able to close the issue with less complications and doing it the right way. I received an email after that from another team mate that says “thank you and I’m proud of you”, a text from another team mate that says “great job Vir for closing the issues earlier!” and another hug and compliment from a team mate for a job well done.

So you see, the issue became an opportunity for me to learn how to be patient and maintain composure. It also taught me the value of speaking my mind out in a gentler way, resolving the situation and maintaining the relationship that I have with my team mates.

My encouragement to all of us to make every effort not just to remain gentle and patient but to maintain peace, this way, we become an effective testimony of a changed life and of Christ.

Thank you for reading!

6 thoughts on “Devotional: Make Effort for Peace”

  1. Your blog keeps getting better and better! Your older articles are not as good as newer ones you have a lot more creativity and originality now. Keep it up!
    And according to this article, I totally agree with your opinion, but only this time! 🙂

  2. hello it is my first reply on this blog and in the begining I would like to thank you for the unique information, which I found in this and all previous topics , it really helped me a lot. I will definitely add this website on my google reader 🙂 Also, I would like to ask – don’t you mind if I will quate some information from your blog because I am writing articles for the Associated Content, Ezine and other articles directories (this is my part time job)? It would really help me with some of mine articles. Of course, I will mention your blog name or URL (not all articles directories allows URL’s , so I can’t 100% promise that you will get a direct link to your blog).

Leave a Reply

