The Best Of Me


A co-worker of mine used to tell me I’m a workaholic person. Back then, I would agree and not complain when someone tells me that.

I tried evaluating my work, my personality and of course, the things I do and found out that I’m not really workaholic – it’s just that I finish stuff when I am in the brink of deadlines and when pressured to get things done – but NOT workaholic!

For me, a workaholic person is someone who keeps thinking of his work even when he’s on his way home, tries to meddle with unfinished business through his laptop even on the wee hours of the night and of course, when in discussion with someone, it always goes back to the topic about work and deadlines.

I’m not like that, not unless pressured. Oopps…

But then again, I would like to reiterate that I’m the kind of person who is up for excellence. I don’t want to work half-heartedly. I place everything in perspective and makes sure that I’m doing a good job even to the extent of not speaking the whole day to officemates, eyebrows closed to each other and being sarcastic at some nonsense jokes I hear from time to time.

Okay,okay… What’s in it for me?

Another co-worker said that there’s no sense in giving your all with the kind of company we’re working.

Personally, I have to disagree.

The Apostle Paul shares in 1 Corinthians 10:31 that “…whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God….” That means, even when no one is watching or even when not evaluated, I have to do my best.

Whether I like it or now, I will give an account to my creator who has given me the skills and gifts to do a job well done. And of course, because I do it for Him above all.

Many times have I heard from many employers and businessmen that those who loves the Lord so much oftentimes gives the best output in any work. And I have to agree on what they say as I interview applicants, I find it interesting that believers usually do a lot of stuff for free and do it diligently and passionately I might add.

When you become a believer, you can’t sit still and not do anything that will please the Lord, and so it is with work, we don’t sit around when we know there’s work to be done, and when we work, we don’t work as if it’s a lousy job with no sense of fulfillment.

I find fulfillment in every activity I finish, and when evaluated, got to see good results and improvement on how I do things. Indeed, practice does makes perfect!

And I guess, that’s the reason why when I work, I give THE BEST OF ME.

Leave a Reply

