Life Realizations [Part 1]- The Financial Aspect


Christmas is a celebration of life. We celebrate the birth of our savior, Jesus Christ and feast on the good news of salvation, life and redemption because of what He did on the cross for us.

I just recently read on my facebook about the death of an online friend. I’m not sure if the rumors are true or someone is playing a prank over the life of another, but it made me think over my own life and realized something that I missed for the last 3 or 4 years of my life.

Okay, if you’re a professional you’d probably agree that we have spent most of our times beating deadlines and making sure that we are growing in our career and being the best of what we do.  I live 70% of my daily routine in the office; do some other stuff at 30%.

I know, some of you would say “Get a life…” and yes, I might have missed the point but life for me was work, net and etc.

I want changes by 2010. I’m not saying I’ll quit work or anything; I just want to spend most of my time doing something worthwhile and not spending my time beating deadlines. As this year closes, I’m trying to figure out what I can do for next year that can be an investment for my future.

AE. Get a Financial Life1

To be Financially Stable

I’ve been working selfishly and I just found out that I’m not saving enough. I know, I need to think of ways where I can save and invest perhaps in a small business or two. (Who’s interested for partnership?)

Being financially stable doesn’t necessarily mean I have “muchos dineros” it can also mean having enough for my need without thinking where I’ll get money when the need arises.

It also means I have to be less “burara” in buying stuff and take time to think through the motives why I buy stuff and all. I like it when my Auntie would call me up and talk me out in not buying items I plan to buy. Interesting enough, she definitely has an edge every time she calls. Hehe…Di ba te?

Wise Spending Instincts

Okay, I want to save and be keen in buying things.  Upon reviewing my track record for this year, there was some bad spending.  Definitely need to go for a Personal Finance Workshop wherein I can learn the basics of saving, spending wisely and of course, not depriving myself of anything as well.

Wise spending is the better option. How can I determine if it’s a good buy? Let’s say it all comes back to this particular question we all learned in Sunday school – Is it a want or a need?

A want is particularly something we drool on even if we think we can’t afford it. We want to be “in” and have the latest of things in expense of buying stuff that is not really important as of the moment but nevertheless we want it on our list for Christmas.

A need, on the other hand is something we opt to buy because it’s important. Let’s say it simply as buying the stuff we need on a daily basis and can last long for a year or two or even more. It doesn’t have to be expensive but definitely worth the purpose why I bought it. 🙂

Of course there is a thin red line between differentiating my wants and needs. And I have to be extra careful in choosing as my melancholy can play in my mind making everything as a “need” rather than a “want”.

Investing through Business

My friends and I are planning to have a barkada business in our hometown. I’m not sure what the update for the said proposal is but I’m really interested in looking for a way to start a business by early next year.

My uncle wanted me to stop working and really get serious with my business proposal. And I have to think twice because even I am not that confident if I can manage the business much more expands it. I know that you’d probably say there’s no harm in trying, but if your future is at stake, I guess I have to weigh things down.

But yes, having your own business is a good option as well in saving for the rainy season. It’s actually best option instead of just saving your money in the bank.

The Conclusion

Never buy something out of want, it should be a need and for a good purpose. Save money to become financially stable and invest for my future by venturing into business. Now, I just need to look for ways to have a capital to start the business proposal I had before.

I’ve started this post about life realizations and I’ll try to make a series out of this starting with the financial aspect of my life. Of course, who knows – the next topic might be something interesting as well – like lovelife and all! LoL.

So, how about you? How do you plan to invest for your future? 🙂

Leave a Reply

