Modern Day Heroes!


The Philippines seems to be getting much attention lately as Pacquiao wons the latest boxing spree with Cotto and Efren Peñaflorida winning the CNN Heroes of the Year Award.

bonifaci

These two are definitely heroes in their own rights.

Pacquiao, who has established his name in the boxing world by winning from one fight to another and having more than 5 belts in a span of less than a decade. His prowess prides the Filipino people as he sweeps the crowd with his blows. Now, I wonder how he will spend his money from the winnings that he had.

Efren on the other hand, showed that a simple dream can create big changes and impact to less fortunate people. His story is one encouragement that the Filipino can prevail amidst the challenges and he is an answer to the changes we all are expecting.

I would like to quote him in encouraging us in doing something for change –

“So to each and every person inside in this theater and for those who are watching at home, the hero in you is waiting to be unleashed. Serve, serve well, serve others above yourself and be happy to serve. As I always tell my co-volunteers … you are the change that you dream as I am the change that I dream and collectively we are the change that this world needs to be.”

Every hero has his story and I hope that with these stories comes the challenge for us to make change, and change for the better.

These two showed that no matter how big or small our endeavors are, it can help change the world. If a boxer can bring pride to his country at the boxing ring or someone who is helping the less fortunate with the few things he has can accomplish so much, I believe we too can create better opportunities as well.

Their stories reminded me of why I am in the recruitment. I’m here to help people get jobs so they can provide better life for their family. It’s one principle I always keep in mind everytime I’m doing the final interview.  It’s the least I can do as an individual to help bring change in my community. 🙂

Again, 2 thumbs up to Pacquiao and Efren, YOU GUYS ROCK!

Leave a Reply

