The Faithfulness Of God


I always fear the rain when I was a little kid. It always reminded me of the story of Noah and the great flood in the Book of Genesis. Noah built the ark for more than a hundred years and the only living creatures that were saved were the animals and his own family. 

I don’t consider Ondoy or Pepeng a comparison to what struck the earth more than 2000 years ago, but I can compare the fears and uncertainties of what will or might happen when Pepeng strikes. With the next big storm on our way many of us are in reality afraid to what will happen with our beloved family.

I don’t want to sound absurd or crazy, but I also want to reflect with what’s going on to how we respond to God through the calamities we are facing. It’s an opportune time to think, sit back and see how God moves in these present times.

I’m not saying I want to experience being swept away through the flood, but I want to experience the promise of the Rainbow Covenant. As the Genesis account says, the rainbow signifies the covenant God made with Noah – that He will never destroy the earth by the use of flood. Our God does not lie nor breaks his promises, and I strongly believe that God in His nature cannot deny himself to show His true character – being compassionate and big in mercy.

It is also another opportunity to trust him at our worst. I know that I don’t have a hold of nature or any calamity but He is in control. All creation is subject for and of him, which basically means He is the creator and He is Lord over all things. He has our concerns at heart, and will never do anything to harm us. Psalms 46:10 says to “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

I do have a lot of questions before the Lord everytime this kind of event happens to a country or a certain area. But I have to say that I am not ready to hear His answers.

I believe there will be a time and a purpose for every answer I can get from Him. I am reminded of Job’s dillemma when he wanted to be in God’s presence to defend him to everything that is happening.

I surely remember the response from the Lord to Job’s request – “Who is this that darkens my counsel with words without knowledge?”  (Job 38:2) and after which, God gave an account from the creation of the world to the many things God is doing on a daily basis.  Job was dumbfounded to how God answered him –

Job 42

Job

 1 Then Job replied to the LORD :

 2 “I know that you can do all things;
       no plan of yours can be thwarted.

 3 You asked, ‘Who is this that obscures my counsel without knowledge?’
       Surely I spoke of things I did not understand,
       things too wonderful for me to know.

 4 “You said, ‘Listen now, and I will speak;
       I will question you,
       and you shall answer me.’

 5 My ears had heard of you
       but now my eyes have seen you.

 6 Therefore I despise myself
       and repent in dust and ashes.”

Our God’s faithfulness reminds me of knowing that whenever there are uncertainties in life; God never fails to show his control over things. It may not be visible today, but surely, it will be laid bare in the future. With that, I’d say I have believed before I have seen Him work in this present situation.

I may never have the answer why God allowed 2 storms to come in the Philippines one after another, but I have to believe Him in what His Words say, HE is in control.  Let us then continue to pray for His divine intervention and protection and His purpose for this calamity and surely, the one who is in control, has our concerns at heart. 

Thank You for reading!

One thought on “The Faithfulness Of God”

Leave a Reply

