Why I Joined PBA 2009?


I just read the updates from the Philippine Blog Awards website and learned that I need to create a blog entry why I  joined the said competition.Although I got confirmation from the commitee prior to the date of the blog entry in PBA,  there’s no harm in sharing my own reason for joining as well. 🙂

Courtesy of Yugatech
Courtesy of Yugatech

Being Recognized and “Getting In” with PBA

Like any blogger, I want to be heard out and have Melankoliko get noticed in the Pinoy blogosphere. I have to admit that there are a lot of blog addicts out there and my small voice can sometimes be overpowered by the established, more interesting and definitely, high end blog sites evolving in the country.

Blogs in the rural areas like Dumaguete has not been showcased to the world of blogging. Upon learning that the competition this year will include the Visayas and Mindanao areas prompted me to try my luck with the competition. Although I was unsure in joining the competition, I blogged about it after clicking the submit button.

I was excited and jumped for joy when I received the email from the committee informing me that my blog is one of the official nominees for the Philippine Blog Awards 2009. My co-workers were shocked when they saw what I did. Of course, I shared to them the news and they were excited for me as well.

The Uncertainty of Winning

I know the voting has not started yet and there are a lot of things to consider as well. I am uncertain if I get the chance to be one of the finalists or if I’ll be a winner for the said contest.

Having the guts to compete with the rest of the bloggers out there makes me proud of saying that living in the outskirts of the metropolitan areas like Manila and Cebu does not hinder a person to air out his concerns and opinions to the vast issues of this country is facing or just updating friends and families to what’s going on with my life and get recognized doing it.

And for that, I salute the rest of the local Dumaguete bloggers who made their own step in being fellow nominees for the Philippine Blog Awards 2009. Congrats Guys!

12 thoughts on “Why I Joined PBA 2009?”

  1. oops, i posted the comment on the wrong entry. i’m looking for the post of PB regarding the rule on posting this “why i joined” thingie…can’t find it

    btw, i replied to your comment on my blog. i’ve already been to dumaguete (and siquijor) but that was the time when i lost my camera so i don’t have less crappier photos like i have now. intend to explore dumaguete someday

  2. Intimately, the post is really the best on this worthw hile topic. I concur with your conclusions and will eagerly look forward to your coming updates. Just saying thanks will not just be sufficient, for the fantasti c lucidity in your writing. I will instantly grab your rss feed to stay privy of any updates. Good work and much success in your business enterprise!

Leave a Reply

