Why I will vote for 2010 Elections


I had a short chat with a co-worker about my recent post about my endorsement for Brother Eddie and it came to the discussion of the importance of voting and of being a registered voter herself.

 

 The discussion was a good one, since I realized that I do have a reason to vote for 2010.

My Mistake from the Past

When I turned 18 years old, I was so excited to the fact that I can now vote. I am not politically inclined, but I was sick and tired of hearing people talk about voting and how the people “UP” there change the lives of people from all walks of life. I wanted to be part of it. I am a person who wants to get involve into something rather than just grumble and wait.

I have to admit that I was a rookie in voting, I voted to who was well-known in the local setting. I remember listening to many of the candidates at the plaza and heard a lot them saying about making the Philippines a better nation, where there is no corruption and that the Filipino has a better life to live in the country. Where there is no need to go out to work, where people don’t fear tyrants and terrorists.

The Current Reality

I have heard a lot of people complaining about people in authority and how they squander and talk about so many issues and yet not doing about it. Sad to say, the ones I’ve heard saying those things came from people who didn’t vote or those who voted these people before.

When all is said and done, the outcome is still the same – promises broken, few improvements and sad to say, same people on the upper hand is in control.

Our Basic Right to Vote

If there is one basic right a Filipino must have, it’s the right to vote for the person who will speak on his behalf. Our tendency is just to forget about elections and move on with our lives but later on grumbles about the life we live here in the Philippines.

Like what I told my co-worker, voting is one basic right we have. It’s a passage for us to speak for ourselves and yes, gives a legitimacy to cry aloud our heartaches when everything seems not to be as promised and change those who are in power who failed to do so.

My Personal Choice to Vote

Am I crying over spilled milk?

Yes, I am. Forgive me, but after 3 or 4 years, I see only a few insignificant changes. Although the SONA gave numbers as facts, I still see a lot of Filipinos cry for their right to live – and live for a better life. Many politicians as well failed to meet the promises they have given, or even half of it.

I don’t want to telltales and give names, just try to watch previous rallies and compare them to the statements that they’ve given. It all speaks for itself.

If there is one reason why I’m voting for 2010 Elections is to set things right with myself. I don’t want to be blinded again with the sweet topics politicians speak and really look for pertinent people who can turn this country back to its feet. And I’m voting for people who are less political inclined, not the scammers, power hungry individuals but more on people who are in good governance and service.

Although I have to admit, everything can go well as expected but we have to be ready for the unseen hands of “graft and corruption” trying to penetrate – And it’s up to the Commission on Elections to REALLY DO THEIR JOB in monitoring elections and not just pretend they are.

2 thoughts on “Why I will vote for 2010 Elections”

Leave a Reply

