A Time for Everything…?


I’m still at the office up to this time because of so many urgent deliverables for next week. My mind bugs me of the urgency but my body tells me to stop first and relax. These are the times that I am hooked to being workaholic over the weekend. Can you imagine, I’m thinking of going back tomorrow early to finish up my work for the university fair and by sunday to oversee the preparation of logistics. Grrr…Just thinking about it makes me frown in disbelief.

But what can I do? I’m a workaholic-obsessive compulsive-perfectionist human being. I guess that’s being wired when you want to do your best every time for a specific task. I know, I know it shouldn’t be like that but my personality asks for it.

Although the bible speaks of doing the best out of everything for the Lord – I sometimes wonder for what purpose do I do such things. I always remember William Girao’s perfect title – “Enjoy Life” as he shared insights of the Book Of Ecclesiastes. Haaay…

There is a time for everything,
       and a season for every activity under heaven…

Time? I have a lot of it actually but the activity part breaks my heart. If I am to weigh it in a scale, 90% of my time is spent at work and only a few things for enjoyment, fun and fellowship.

Whatever is has already been,
       and what will be has been before;
       and God will call the past to account

I’m pretty much afraid rather than blessed over this verse right now. My consumed time over work can pretty much fail me. Ouch!!! I have wasted much time over eternity-less endeavors that I’m becoming more and more unupdated with what God desires for me more than just work and sleeping time.

Let me end up with the beautiful verses found in the same chapter in Ecclesiastes 3  as a closing remark –

What does the worker gain from his toil?  I have seen the burden God has laid on men. He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the hearts of men; yet they cannot fathom what God has done from beginning to end.  I know that there is nothing better for men than to be happy and do good while they live.  That everyone may eat and drink, and find satisfaction in all his toil—this is the gift of God.  I know that everything God does will endure forever; nothing can be added to it and nothing taken from it. God does it so that men will revere him.

In everything that is happening, it is only GOD who knows when will this end and what will last forever and gain much from now to eternity.  May God grant me wisdom to choose wisely and determine what needs to be done and what is more important to life and of my desire to serve Him more. 😉

2 thoughts on “A Time for Everything…?”

  1. hehe, nkarelate me sa ginawa u. since i started being part of the ministry (orphanage) i was always bc with the kingdom less with the king. and it’s so tiring, grabe! but praise God by this year, unti2 me n magkron ng “time management”(unti2 lng, hehehe). time mangement is very much important!

    God bless u!

  2. ate lhalyn!

    I have time management but less with ministry and the King. 😦 My planner is really not full pero notebook ko for deliverables naman sobrang puno as always!

    Ingats,
    Vir

Leave a Reply

